5 on Friday

It’s Friday, so that means it’s time for the Friday Five! Check out the link above to join in the fun!

[ONE] Baby girl had her 6 month check up this week! She is a skinny minnie at only 14lbs 13 ozs and is now 26 inches. She was screaming bloody murder during most of her check up. She didn’t like the strange people messing with her. She cried during her shots, but, after the initial pain, she was all better with me holding her. Next check up is at NINE months! I cannot believe she is already six months.

[TWO] The local fair is going on this week. Last year was the first time we went in the 5 years we have lived here, but I didn’t enjoy myself very much since I was feeling quite ill most of the time we were there. (Oh, the joys of pregnancy!) This year we decided to go in the evening on a weekday to hopefully avoid a crowd.

The weather was perfect on Tuesday, so we headed over there after baby’s doctor appointment. It was uncharacteristically cool out, so it was nice to take a stroll around. We showed Evie the animals and the midway rides. Dave and I grabbed a corn dog and lemonade for dinner(what good is a fair without corn dogs and other fried food?!) and Evie thought they were so funny. It was one of the first times she has just laughed with out us really doing anything. She was cracking up, it was so adorable! Tomorrow is the last day, so maybe we will make another trip out there.

[THREE] I am so excited for it to be fall! I am not a summer person, at.all. I grew up in the central valley of California, where it is blazing hot in the summer, then moved to Texas, where it is also blazing hot in the summer, with a side of humidity. I do love it here, but I cannot stand the heat. We don’t get a very pretty fall, with color changing leaves and what not, but just the relief from the heat is wonderful.

I also love all of the fall and Halloween decorations that start appearing in the stores. Halloween is my favorite holiday, along with Christmas. I love to bust out the tubs of Halloween decorations and spookify our place. Fall also means pumpkin candles/scentsy/soaps in my house. I bought a few new hand soaps a few weekends ago- Pumpkin cupcake and Pumpkin Latte, mmmmm.

[FOUR] I got to thinking, this last Wednesday, September 11th. How am I going to explain that day to Evangeline? I think it is important for her to learn about what happened, when she is old enough, and in an age appropriate manner. That day had a significant impact on me, being 15 when it happened. I lived pretty carefree before then. I had learned about things like the attack on Pearl Harbor in history class, but it didn’t have a very big impact because it seemed so long ago. Seeing something so horrific, live as it happened on TV, doesn’t leave you.

[FIVE] Do you know how wonderful nap time is? Yeah, it’s pretty great. Unfortunately, this child is anti-nap, even at just 6 months old. She will get tired and so very cranky, but fights napping. I finally found something that has worked to get her to at least nap a little. We go in my bedroom, I shut off the light and turn on Pandora on my iPad. We listen to Rockabye baby or Piano Guys station. I lay down with her and give her her pacifier. Sometimes she resists, but it doesn’t last long.

Once she is asleep, I cannot move because she will wake up. Once my arm fell asleep and I tried to remove it from around her. There went her nap. While I love cuddling with her, I kind of miss when she would nap easily. It was the perfect time to turn on the monitor and shower or wash dishes. For now, I am just going to enjoy the cuddle time and the dishes will have to wait!

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Link Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

