Songs that define me

Helene in Between

I LOVE music. When I love a song, I will listen to it over and over. When I saw this link up, I thought it would be fun to walk down musical memory lane!

This was one of my favorite songs back in 5th grade. I remember I asked for the cassette tape for Christmas! I would listen to it and rewind to listen to it again. This is really when I started to have my own taste in music. Before I really just listened to what my parents played- Madonna, Peter Frampton, etc.

I wanted to be just like the Spice Girls. I was around 5th/6th grade and I thought they were so cool. Baby Spice was my favorite. I wanted to be cool like them, wear clothes like them.

I got Hanson’s CD for Christmas in 6th along with a CD player. This song was on repeat. I was in love. I had posters plastered all over my walls and fantasized about marrying Taylor (and Leonardo DiCaprio ha). It was the start of my boy crazy phase.

In middle school, I started going to one school. During that school year, the district changed the boundaries for the school. I was going to have to change schools at the beginning of the next school year. I had met a lot of new people and made some really good friends, and changing schools felt like the worst thing in the world, especially since none of my new friends were going to my new school with me. This song played at the end of the year rally. I remember going home and crying because I was so upset about switching schools. Every time I hear this song, I remember that day. In the end, it was a good thing to switch schools, since I never would have met the people I did, especially my husband.

My Nana loved Andrea Bocelli. A few months after high school graduation, while my grandfather (who I called Oppie) was dying of cancer, my Nana had a stroke. She ended up in a coma and in hospice, sharing a room with my grandfather. We brought a CD player to the hospital and hospice to play her favorite music. According to the person who was with her when she died, this song was playing. We also played it at their funeral. (They died 4 days apart. This song reminds me of her. It isn’t necessarily my genre of music, but I have really come to love it and whenever I listen to Andrea Bocelli, I think of my Nana.

I used to have this song as my ringtone. I was in college and pretty depressed.

These songs were on repeat during my husband’s (then boyfriend) deployment to Iraq. It was a really hard time for me, and I could really relate to these songs at that time.

This song is my husband’s song for me. It was funny, every time I got in the car this would play.

I feel like this song is my husband and I. We are not perfect. He pisses me off and I piss him off. But I love him.

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Link Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

