Flash Forward Fun: A future letter to our children

button
My daughter is only 6 months old, but I wonder what she is going to grow up to be like. Sarah and Holly are doing a link up, and it is all about writing a letter to/about your child(ren)’s future! This is such a cool idea! If you would like to join in, click the banner above!

Dear Evangeline,

As I am writing this, you are asleep in your crib. I have the monitor going just in case you need me. I know that soon enough, you won’t need me as much. One day, you won’t need me at all. I really do cherish all the time I get to spend helping you and teaching you as you grow and learn to do things on your own. I honestly don’t “know” what I am doing, but just going by instinct. I hope I am doing a good job.

Over the last six months, I have seen your little personality come out. It is so exciting to see you become your own little person. There are so many things I hope for you in the future. I thought it would be fun to write a letter for you to read when you are older, but please don’t rush growing up!

When I try to picture you older, I see a tall young lady, possibly taller than me (5’9″). Your daddy is 6’4″, so unless you got some recessive short gene, I think you are going to have some height. I don’t know what you will weigh, but, whatever the number, I hope that you love yourself and your body. That is something I have struggled with for a long time and I hope that it isn’t something you have to deal with.

I hope that you are not too much of a daredevil (But so far, you seem to like trying to launch yourself off of things), but I hope you are more of a risk-taker than your mom. I don’t care if you choose to get tattoos or piercings. In a way, I kind of expect that you will, since I have both. All I can say is please really put thought into something like a tattoo before you do it- a tattoo is a lot harder to get rid of than it is to get! Also a good tattoo isn’t cheap, and a cheap tattoo isn’t good! Stay away from people who tattoo in their house/garage. Research first. Check out the artist’s portfolio before letting them put something permanent on your body.

I hope that you choose to further your education. Whether that be a university or trade school. It’s also ok not to know what you want to be “when you grow up.” Whatever you choose to do, I hope you are happy and it is fulfilling for you. It may take a long time and/or a lot of work to get to that point, but hard work and patience pays off.

I hope that you meet someone that you fall in love with. Not fall in lust, but real love. I hope that you will be able to tell the difference between the two. Don’t rush things. Get to know the other person. Enjoy dating. Don’t rush into marriage, if you choose to get married. Your father and I believe that marriage is for the long haul and is not something to take lightly.

If you choose to have children, I hope that you wait till you are a little older. There are so many things to do and see in your teenage years and early 20’s. Kids are a blessing, but use those years to be a little selfish. Sleep in on your days off. Treat yourself to something frivolous. Travel. Go out with friends. When you have a child, your life changes a lot. It is possible to do much of what you did before, but things will never be the same as they were before.

I hope that I pass to you on my love for spicy foods, reading, crafting, cats and the beach. I hope that you are confident and stand up for what you believe in. I hope you live where ever you are happy, even if we are far apart. I will love you just the same, no matter the distance. I love you very much, and I cannot wait to see the woman you become!

Love, Mom

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Link Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flash Forward Fun: A future letter to our children

  1. Sarah says:

    Thanks for joining us Nicole! I think it was even more fun to read posts of those with the youngest babies since no one has any clues as to how they will turn out! Sweet letter. 🙂

  2. Holly says:

    I hope my kids like spicy foods and crafting too! 😉

Leave a Reply

