5 on Friday

[ONE] It is so lovely outside today- it’s RAINING!! Here in west Texas, we don’t get much of the wet stuff. We have been in a severe drought the better part of the last 5 years. I grew up in central Cali, and I am used to having the occasional rain all day. If we get rain here, it is usually a torrential downpour for five minutes and it is over. This is such a nice change!

[TWO] I got a few things for winter this past week. I got myself a pair of Minnetonka short boots in red. Like these, but a slightly different color:

Image via 6pm.com

Next I went clothes shopping, like I mentioned previously. I got a tan shirt with small gold skull details on the front (kind of hard to describe). I got a new bra that is really pretty and lacey. Lastly, I got some funky jeggings:

Image via LaneBryant.com

[THREE] My husband is in the military, but, luckily, his job field works a pretty regular Monday-Friday schedule (not counting when he is deployed, on call or TDY). Occasionally he has to work on Saturday, and tomorrow is one of those days. It isn’t a full day, so it isn’t so bad. After he gets home from work we actually have plans! My husband’s cousin’s husband (follow that?) is also military. He got a message from her last week and they just moved to a base only 90 minutes south from us. So we are going to go down there and meet up for dinner. Should be fun!

[FOUR] Traveling with a baby can be HARD. They need so much stuff. Tomorrow we are only going 90 minutes away, but we don’t know how long we will be visiting. I will have my normal small diaper bag, but I am going to have to bring a second bag to leave in the car with extras. I don’t overpack as much as I did when she was a newbie, so I typically just bring a onesie in case of diaper leaks or what not, bottle with water, formula, pacifier with leash, a couple diapers, wipes, and a burp cloth, plus the essential wallet, keys and phone. The longer we are out, the more I need. For our trip tomorrow I will be bringing more diapers, an insulated bag with bottles, a pouch of food, bib, a few toys to keep her from getting bored, and a muslin blanket for naptime. Man, that sounds like a ton, but if we are going to be out for 5+ hours (very likely since just the drive there and back will be 3 total) we will need/use everything.

[FIVE] I am seriously addicted to baby headbands! I started making my own bows and headbands a few weeks ago and I have a million I have been drooling over on etsy. I want them ALL! I think if I could, I would have a different headband for every out fit. With Halloween and Christmas on the horizon, I am just dying over all of the cute options for baby’s first holidays. I don’t even have Christmas outfit(s) for her yet since I am unsure what size she would need by then (She is just a little thing!), so I tell myself I have to hold off on the Christmas headband so they match haha.

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Link Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

