Weekend Wrap Up

So, the weekend didn’t turn out much like I thought it would. Not a horrible thing, but still a little disappointing.

Friday, we headed out the the balloon festival around 5:00pm. We loaded baby into the stroller and walked around a little. There were not as many vendors as 2 years ago, but there were a bunch of food places. D got some tickets (they only take tickets at the food vendors) and we decided that corndogs sounded good. I am a sucker for “real” corndogs. So bad but so good. These doggies were HUGE too.

It wasn’t too crowded, so we found a table to eat. They had musicians warming up for the entertainment. People were steadily starting to arrive. Problem was, it was windy. Really windy. The first launch of the day was canceled for the wind. We decided to stick around for a little bit, but the time for launch came and went. D was getting restless. Baby was still doing pretty good, but was a little tired. People started to leave. We decided to go home.

I was pretty disappointed that we missed out. When we went 2 years ago, we didn’t know the schedule, so we didn’t see the balloons then either. I am not sure if they launched that evening or not. I know they still did the night glow, since I saw a picture posted of it on facebook. Unfortunately, the night glow was at baby’s bedtime, so we would have missed out on that one anyways.

Saturday we woke up to rain. That meant the first launch of balloons at 7:30am would be canceled. I had a hellacious night up and down with Evie. D got up with her in the morning and I caught a few more Z’s. We got a really slow start to our day, and skipped going to the zoo as planned. We also were going to go take some donations downtown, but they would have got all wet in the bed of our truck. We will take them next weekend instead.

Poor Evie was so uncomfortable all Saturday with constipation. (TMI) She cried so hard trying to poo, it was so sad. We went out to get some things at the store and picked up some glycerin suppositories for her. We have been trying so many remedies to help her, but nothing was really helping. Saturday night/Sunday morning was much like the night before. She was awake past 2am and up again at 6am. It was rough.

Today we just stayed home for the majority of the day. We went out to dinner, but that was about it. D and I watch the show Once Upon a Time, and it was the season premiere tonight, so we tuned into that. I got baby into bed just after it was over at 8pm, but she was awake again less than an hour later.

I thought it was her poo problem again, but no. She was a bit hungry again, so I fed her. She was still fussy though. She was crying and crying. Well, I did something different (or different as of late). I have been a bit lazy the last few weeks about putting Evie in a cloth diaper at night. The night diapers are really bulky and make it hard to button her 6 month pjs, so I have been mainly using her sposies at night. Tonight, I decided to get her back in cloth. Well, while trying to figure out what was wrong, it dawned on me that I had done that. So, I got her disposable diaper out and swapped the cloth for it. She settled right down and went to sleep. I guess it was making her uncomfortable or something? I’m not sure, but I am hoping for a better night than the last two, since D has work tomorrow and won’t be home to help me.

Not an overall bad weekend, just not as planned. Now I am looking forward to Tuesday and doing some consignment shopping! It’s the little things!

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

