The most wonderful time of the year

Well,  as most people are aware of, it’s Christmas time! I swear that it was just July, then boom, Christmas.  It guess it doesn’t help that Christmas decor started showing up in stores in August. 

Christmas has to be my favorite holiday,  besides Halloween. It isn’t all about getting gifts,  but for tradition. There were things growing up that we did every Christmas season. Each Thanksgiving, my Nana would give out a new ornament to each person. She would get out her tree right after Thanksgiving, and we (the grandkids) would help decorate it.  She had lights that would flash along to Christmas tunes. Whenever I would go to her house to visit that time of year,  the lights would be on and the music playing.

Each year,  at the beginning of December,  my Nana and cousin would attend the local production of The Nutcracker. We would always go out to lunch across the street from the theatre and dress up really fancy. We also went to the Christmas parade that was the first Friday of December each year. That’s when it really started to feel like Christmas.

On Christmas Eve, we all would go out to dinner as a big group. Over the years the location changed several times. When I was younger, we went to a couple different pizza places, and as a teenager, we went to Mimi’s Café. Sometimes we would go over my aunt and uncle’s house for Christmas cookies after dinner.

Christmas morning was spent opening presents with my parents. After we would have breakfast and get dressed. My mom always wore a certain perfume. Every time I smell it, I think of Christmas. My mom usually made deviled eggs to bring over to my grandparent’s house,  and we would head over there.

Once all the extended family arrived, the grandkids opened their gifts. Christmas Eve, my nana would sort all the presents out into piles for each grandkid. She always went overboard with presents for us. The rest of the day was spent relaxing, eating and playing games.

Now, as an adult, and someone who lives far from family and the place I grew up, Christmas makes me a little depressed. Things don’t have that special sparkle anymore. Both of my grandparents passed away before Christmas 2004, and it hasn’t felt the same since.  My husband and I have tried to make our own traditions, but it always felt like it was missing something.

This is my daughter’s first Christmas. It gives me hope that this can and will be “the most wonderful time a year” again. She will be. 10 months old a few days after Christmas, so she really doesn’t know what is going on, but I already started some new traditions for us.

We attended the Christmas parade for the first time since we have lived here. That really brought back memories for me. I pulled out our big Christmas tree for the first time in 3 years and decorated it will all of our special ornaments. I am keeping the tradition of getting a special new ornament each year.

It’s so awesome to look at all the ornaments and remember where we were that year. We have one that says “our first Christmas together 2009” when it was really our second as a couple. That one is special, since our first Christmas together was actually spent apart,  with D deployed to Iraq. We got one last year that says “parents to be, 2012” and this year’s is a pink onesie with Evangeline’s dob, weight and height.

I am so looking forward to future Christmases with Evangeline (plus possible future siblings). I want to make it as special for her growing up as it was for me.

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

