San Antonio Trip

At the end of January/beginning of February, we took a mini vacation down to San Antonio for 3 nights. The first day was driving, getting settled into our hotel, and checking out the Quarry Market. As usual, I had several heart attacks once we got into San Antonio in route to the hotel. Out of the many places I’ve traveled, San Antonio traffic is in the top 5 for worst traffic, in my opinion.

Luckily, once we got to the hotel, we didn’t have to get back on the freeway for the rest of the day. The Quarry Market was very close to our hotel, so we headed there after we got settled in our room. We mainly just walked around and enjoyed the nice weather, only browsing a few stores. Once the sun started setting, we grabbed some dinner and got baby girl back to the hotel for bed time.

quarry

The next day, we went to visit one of our favorite places, the San Antonio River Walk. We have been there many times before, but it had been about 2 years since our last visit. There was some sort of parade going on that day, which we were unaware of, so traffic was a beast (more than usual, at least) and parking was very difficult to find.

After paying more than I liked to park, we headed through the Rivercenter mall to the Alamo. I snapped a few photos and Dave captured a few portals, but we headed out since it was incredibly crowded. We hit the Riverwalk next, searching for a place to get some lunch. We spent the next few hours having lunch and walking the river, with me taking pictures, of course. We had plans for that evening, so we left the Riverwalk and went on a wild goose chase to find the place.

We finally made it to the Blue Star Brewery after driving in what felt like circles due to road construction. We were going to a sort of meet and greet for Ingress players. Dave had a nice time chatting with fellow players, including some he got to know solely online through G+ and Hangouts. I mainly hung out with Evie, who was a little cranky by that point. We headed out after about 2 hours to get our tired little girl to bed.

alamo alamo2 rr1 rr2 rr5 rr3 rr4 rr6 rr7 rr8 rr9The next morning, the weather had plummeted. It was so beautiful the day before, with temps in the 70s, but now it was cold and rainy. We scrapped our plans for the day and ended up going to Trader Joe’s, Babies R Us and The Lonestar Mall to escape the weather. Evie got a new Build a bear from daddy, a new pair of Stride Rite shoes, and D and I treated ourselves to some Sees candy. We went out to dinner that evening to PF Changs and called it a night. Nothing too exciting, but it was nice not having to worry about a sink full of dishes to wash after dinner!

We got up the next morning and got things packed up to go home. We made one last stop for me, to check out a cool baby store someone in my cloth diaper group recommended. It was awesome! The employees were really nice and helpful and they had so many different brands and types of diapers in stock. Plus, they had soft structured baby carriers, ring slings, wraps, amber necklaces, and, my favorite, Ju-Ju-Be! I was in heaven. I resisted the urge to buy more JJB, but I really wanted to check out the ring slings. Evie was napping in the car with daddy, so I didn’t have a real baby to practice on, but the ladies helped me learn how to put it on and adjust it. I ended up getting one and I love it! I also have a soft structured carrier, so now I alternate between the two, depending on our needs. End babywearing tangent!

Even though we didn’t get to do everything we had planned, it was nice to get away from home for awhile. It was really nice visiting San Antonio in the winter. We usually go down there in the summer, and the hot temps and humid air can be miserable at the Riverwalk. We wanted to stop in Fredricksburg on our way home, but decided it wasn’t a good idea after seeing the weather report for home. Snow had fallen with a possibility for more, so we wanted to get home before the sun went down.

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

