Get Naked with Herbal Essences

I always love trying new health and beauty products. You never know when you will find your new favorite product. I was lucky enough to be sent the new Herbal Essences Naked line of products from Influenster to try out. I recieved the Naked Moisture Shampoo, Naked Moisture Conditioner, and the Naked Dry Shampoo.

image

I have used Herbal Essences for many years, though not religiously. I love their great scents and the products don’t hurt my wallet. This Naked line really intrigued me because it is free of sulfates, heavy residues, parabens, and dye. Basically stuff that can hurt your hair and leave nasty buildup.

I have used several brands of dry shampoos in the past. I can’t wash my hair too frequently or else it gets dry and damaged, but I tend to get a little oily the day after washing. I currently have bangs, and they always need a touch up on day 2. Honestly, I haven’t had much luck with dry shampoos. The ones I’ve tried previously make my hair feel and look dirty. There has been one or two that I had to get in the shower to wash my hair after trying the dry shampoo because it made my hair feel disgusting.

So, I went into trying the Herbal Essences Naked Dry shampoo really skeptical. I used it mainly on my bangs the day after washing. I did get a little bit of white powder in my hair, but that easily came out with my brush. Once I got the powder out (next time I remembered not to spray it too close to my hair), my hair looked clean. It absorbed the oil nicely. It felt much matter than the other day shampoos I have used. While it didn’t feel like freshly washed hair would, it didn’t have the sticky, yucky feel I experienced with other dry shampoos.

20140702-154040-56440213.jpg

The next day it was time to try out the Naked Moisture shampoo and Conditioner. The first thing I always check out with new poo/conditioner is the smell. The shampoo smelled really familiar to me. It reminded me a lot of my husband’s body wash, which is not a bad thing. It was kind of fresh, herbal, and woodsy maybe? It wasn’t as strong as his body wash, but just strong enough. I love how it is clear without all those unnecessary dyes. The conditioner had a similar scent, but more subdued.

The shampoo cleaned my hair nicely and the conditioner left it nice and soft. The only draw backs I found is that the next day my scalp was a bit flaky and I felt a bit more greasy than usual. I am prone to getting dandruff, so I use a dandruff shampoo at least once a week.

Overall, I was very pleased with these products. I will for sure continue to use the dry shampoo and the moisture shampoo. I am still undecided on the conditioner. I may need to use that more sparingly so my hair doesn’t get so greasy the next day.

Have you tried the Naked line from Herbal Essences? Let me know what you think in the comments!

20140701-140839-50919137.jpg

Disclosure: I received these products for free from Influenster to review. The opinions stated here are, and always will be, all my own.

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Naked with Herbal Essences

  1. I’m always on the lookout for dry shampoo! What other dry shampoos have you used? I’ve used Oribe and Orlando Pita, and they are pretty compareable, huge cost difference though!

    ~Jess

    • Nicole says:

      Honestly, I’ve only tried drug store brand dry shampoos in the past. After my bad experience with the first few, I was really turned off from dry shampoos. I tried TRESemme, a mousse (I can’t remember the brand), Pantene, and Suave. I always wanted to try Oscar Blandi, but didn’t want to spend that much if I wasn’t going to like it. I just figured dry shampoos weren’t for me. I tend to use very little products because I don’t like they way they feel in my hair. If I can feel it, it usually don’t like it, as was the case with the previous dry shampoos. I will have to check out Oribe and Orlando Pita. Thank you for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

