Vacation bound

I’m so excited! We are going on vacation soon! I know I really need this break away from everyday life. Now, we have gone on a bunch of trips this year, but they are usually only 3 nights max and maybe 3-4 hours away from home. This time we are going farther- about 6 hours (without traffic) and will be gone nearly a week.

I am a little bit apprehensive about the long drive down there. Bebe E is pretty good traveling for a few hours, but then she is DONE with the car seat. That isn’t a problem when we travel to places like Dallas, which is only 3 hours away. She is cranky by the time we hit the city, but we are usually close to our destination. This time we are going twice the distance. So far we are planning on stopping for awhile at the half way point to let her out and give us all a break from the truck.

I am most not looking forward to the second half of the drive because we are going to be going through Houston (which has horrible traffic) and we are unfamiliar with the area. We traveled through there once in 2011 and that’s it. (I don’t count my trip down there in 2000 at 14 with my parents) It was stressful getting through the city then with just the two of us, but we now have the munchkin. With our luck she will choose to be grumpy in the middle of congested Houston. I am the designated “navigator” while D is the driver. It’s really hard to try to keep a toddler calm, a husband calm and make sure we are going the right way haha.

I am going to make sure to pack a bunch of Evie’s toys and books to help keep her occupied. She is a very strong willed child though, and when she is ready to get out of the car no toy or book matters. It can get frustrating, but it’s just one of those things we just have to work thorough. Hopefully we can get some of her energy out during our pit stop so hopefully she will nap on the second half of the drive. The drive home should be better because we are splitting it up over 2 days. We are going to stay in Austin for a night and then drive the rest of the way home the next morning.

Drive aside, we are planning on doing lots of fun stuff. Last time we were down in that area we went camping at Galveston Island State Park. It was very pretty and we were camping right next to the beach. Unfortunately it was January and the weather went from really beautiful one day to miserable, cold and stormy. The wind was so horrible and we were camping in a TENT. I think I ended up wearing every piece of clothing I brought just to stay warm. We did get to go to The Strand and a few places along the sea wall before Mother Nature turned on us. Oh, and we spent some time on the beach, freezing cold the last day.

This time we are skipping camping. As much as I would love to do it again (just not in January), it is going to be hot and we have a wild child. Since Miss E is still newish to walking, she is all over the place. We are working with her so she can learn to hold our hand and listen to directions. Most of the time she wants to run free and isn’t a fan of holding hands, which doesn’t work well out of the house. Hotels are so much easier at this point since it gives us a confined space. With a little baby proofing, she can walk around the room and play. When she gets a little older, and can follow directions, I definitely want to go camping again.

Like I said, we have lots planned for our trip. I found us a hotel in a central location so it will be a short drive to everything we want to do. We want to go to Space Center Houston, Battleship Texas, the Kemah Boardwalk, possibly Moody Gardens, Pleasure Pier, and the beach in general. I am super stoked! I am a beach lover (a stereotypical Californian I suppose). I used to go to the beach several times a year growing up in California. I miss being so close to a beach (and in California terms I was pretty far away back then).

Now I just have to make out a list and get to packing. I can’t wait to smell the salty air and stick my toes in the sand. I am really looking forward getting to bring Evie to the beach for the time and putting her toes in the Gulf. I hope she loves the beach like me. Look out for a post about our trip after we get back!

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

