Changes

As I mentioned in my last post, the past few months have held a lot of changes for us. One big one was that my husband separated from the military after 10 years serving.

We are originally from California, but decided that we would like to remain in Texas after he separated. After things being in the air for a little while, D landed a job in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, which is approximately 3 hours east of where he had been stationed.

We took a few day trip over to apartment hunt and get our affairs in order. Let me tell you, apartment hunting, especially with a little one in tow, was not a fun experience. I had done research ahead of time, but online pictures can be deceiving. The first place we visited was nice, but had five million (or so it seemed) stairs that you had to go up, then down, down again, then up just to get to the front door! Others looked nicer in photographs, didn’t have availability, were too small, etc. It was so exhausting. We finally found a place that had most of what we were looking for, so we put down a deposit and set our move in date.

Since my husband was getting out of the military, they will move you to wherever you choose. We decided to do a partial DITY move (where we do some of it ourselves) and made an appointment with the movers to come on January 27th. We were so busy trying to go through stuff to get rid of, separate the things we needed to keep with us, and cleaning up until the minute before the movers were at the door. (We stayed up all night.) When they got there, I got miss Evie out of bed and took her out for the day. She was not a happy camper, but we made it through.

We had a few days between the movers and our final out, so we spent the next few days cleaning, and slept on an air mattress. We were going to final out on the 31st, but we came to the realization that we were not going to be ready. Between not having enough space in the bed of our truck for everything and the fact it was raining L, there was no way to get this all done in one trip. We also had to get to our new place before the office closed for the day, so we postponed our final out to the 3rd of February.

The next few days were pretty hectic. We had the movers bringing the majority of our stuff on the 2nd, and the next day we drove back to Abilene to finish packing and cleaning before the final out. I also had a doctor’s appointment that I decided to keep, since we happened to be back in town. It was such a relief when we were done and had all of our stuff in one place.

Now I’m just dealing with the “fun” part of unpacking everything. The good thing is that I can go at my own pace, especially since the little one makes things a bit difficult. She is like a tiny tornado. Honestly, I can’t wait to have everything unpacked and things back to normalish. The mess is driving me crazy, but I keep telling myself to be realistic and not over do it. I have also come to the conclusion that we have way too much crap and that I never want to move again. (Or at least for quite awhile!)

Whenever I get everything unpacked and decorated, I will post some pictures. I have a few before our ton of stuff was in, but the afters will have to wait a bit. I also have another post I started about our other big change/news. It is something that definitely complicated this move, at least for me, but that will have to wait till another time!

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

