Continuing on the subject of changes, I have another big one to share. Rewinding back to September, not long after Spaz’s passing, we traveled down to San Antonio for Alamo City Comic Con. It was pretty cool. We attended panels for George Takei, Halo, Horror icons (Freddie Krueger, Mike Myers, the crypt keeper, etc), and, my favorite, The Walking Dead (with Scott Wilson, Brighton Sharbino, IronE Singleton, and Kyla Kenedy).

While that was a fun weekend, this post isn’t about that. It was a busy and exhausting weekend. We made the mistake of not bringing the stroller, and the kiddo did not want to be worn in the ring sling I brought, so we carried her most of the time. When it wasn’t as crowded she got to walk while holding our hand, but most of the time there was just too many people. After we got home I was so sore and tired. I woke up still feeling exhausted. I figured it was from over doing it over the weekend and not sleeping much at the hotel, but it wasn’t getting better as the week went on.

What started out as severe exhaustion turned into feeling unwell and loss of appetite. I just felt blah and thought I was coming down with something, but an illness never developed. I started thinking that at I may actually be pregnant.

If you have read some of my past posts or know my story, I have PCOS and dealt with infertility. It took 3 years to get pregnant with my daughter and required medication. I had restarted my medication in April and took it through May because we were ready for baby #2. Life then decided to throw us a curve ball. We decided that I would stop taking the medication and hold off on trying to get pregnant due to my husband possibly getting out of the military. Since I had not taken my medication, I was doubtful that I was actually pregnant, but my symptoms were pointing to that possibility.

I told myself that if I wasn’t feeling better by the first of October, I would test. I was actually feeling worse by then, so I picked up a box at the store. Being impatient, I tested right after I got home instead of waiting for the morning. The positive popped up almost instantly.

I am now almost 28 weeks along and we found out it is a little boy! Dave is pretty happy about that. I didn’t anticipate how difficult picking a name would be. I have a bunch of girl names I love, but I’m still on the fence for boy names. I want something that isn’t too popular but not too “out there.” Hopefully we will have one picked out before my due date!

This pregnancy has been a little rough. I didn’t have morning sickness persay (I never threw up), but I felt nauseous and generally unwell through the beginning of December. Thankfully, that finally subsided! I am feeling pretty good now, aside from being more tired than usual. The move was pretty rough on me. I wasn’t able to do as much as I would have liked and I couldn’t handle carrying anything too heavy. Poor Dave had to most of the grunt work. Oh, and sleeping on an air mattress was HORRIBLE! I would wake up so sore and barely able to get up. I felt like a turtle stuck on its back haha! I am so relieved to have my bed back!

My due date is May 15th. I am in the process of finding a new doctor here. I am really sad that I have to leave my other doctor, but driving 3 hours one way for an appointment isn’t feasible. I am hoping to find a doctor that I will like just as much. Bonus points would be if they deliver at the hospital two blocks away from where I live.

So there is the rest of our big changes. I think everyone I know IRL knows about this already (I announced on Facebook on Christmas day), but I still wanted to blog about it. It’s still kind of surreal for me. I am a bit overwhelmed trying to get our place unpacked, decorated, and get ready for a newborn, all while chasing after a toddler in my third trimester. I am taking it slow though, and I’m sure everything will get done.

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

