Adjustment period

So we have been in our new place about a month now. We still have a lot of unpacking to do, but we have made a good dent in it. It has been difficult unpacking for several reasons. One would be the packers packed things a bit wonky, in my opinion. A box labeled kitchen has some kitchen and then a bunch of stuff from other rooms. I opened a box labeled duffel bags to find a military backpack, small rolling luggage, and my hello kitty collection, among other things. It really does slow down the process when you have to go to other rooms to find a place for things.

The second thing that has made things difficult is actually a person. Little Evie. She loves to try to get into everything and will gladly pull stuff out of boxes and take off with them. I try to get some done during naps or when D can watch her, which is not very often with his schedule.

Third would be the pregnancy. I get tired a lot easier than normal and am generally uncomfortable most of the time. That means more rest breaks and I avoid picking stuff up that is really heavy. My due date is just under 11 weeks away now, so I really want to knock this all out. I’d rather not hurt myself though.

The fourth thing is mother nature. From the day we moved down here in the pouring rain, the weather has been against us. Lately we have had several bouts of snow and ice. Boxes get unpacked, but we have had to wait to drag it out to the dumpsters because it is so slippery out. We get it out when the weather improves, only to have it snow again. Right now it is raining a cold rain that is expected to turn to sleet and snow. Ugh.

I don’t know if it is the whole “nesting” part of pregnancy or what, but not having everything how I want it is driving me a little crazy. It is feeling a lot more like home now that I have some pictures up on the walls, but it’s far from finished. My tastes have changed a lot since I first lived with Dave. We had a lot of posters hung everywhere, mismatched decor, and no general theme. I am now trying to work with a lot of what we already have, but keep things cohesive, while still fitting our style. Dave has a lot of game memorabilia and we have a collection of vinyl figures that I want to incorporate. I also have to make everything kid friendly.

Beyond the unpacking, this move has been an adjustment for sure. First I spent the first 22 years of my life in the same town. Clovis, CA is not big by any stretch, but it does have the advantage of having Fresno a stones throw away. When I moved to Abilene, it was like moving to another Clovis, just without a Fresno near by. It was still an adjustment, learning where things were and getting used to not having a Chipotle near by haha. Now we have moved to the Dallas/Fort Worth area and this is way different. The actual city we live in has over 300,000 people (vs 100,000ish in Abilene), but the metroplex has 6+ MILLION people. I’ve visited big metro areas before, but never lived in one.

I think the big thing to get used to is the traffic. It takes so long to get places not during rush hour. The thing I’m loving is that we are close to so many things we missed in Abilene, and there is so much to do a small drive away. We used to come to this area for vacation. We have made many weekend trips to Fort Worth and Dallas. We would go to Ikea, outlet shopping, eat at our favorite restaurants, and go to local shows or festivals. Now we can go anytime we want really, if we actually get time to do so.

So that’s what has been going on with our move/adjustment. Nothing exciting, but I will be excited when everything is in it’s place and not driving me crazy!

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

