Life’s curveballs

If I could rewind the clock to the beginning of July, I would have never imagined my month would go in the direction that it did. A little back story: after I had Evie in 2013 I started having strange things happen. She was exactly one month old and I had sudden pain and nature hit me out of no where. After a few hours it passed, and I felt like nothing had happened. I did what any person would do, I googled my symptoms. I found that what I had felt was most likely a gallbladder attack. Soon enough, I had another. One night I woke up with terrible pain. I was vomiting and in agony. I got Dave up and was packed up 3 month old Evie and went to the ER in the middle of the night. They tested my blood, did a chest X-ray, and they did an EKG. After hours of waiting, I was told that I pulled a muscle. I questioned it and brought up the gallbladder and was blown off. I was sent home with scripts for Vicodin and a muscle relaxer. Luckily, the attacks stopped happening.

Fast forward to September 2014. Out of the blue I am hit with a painful attack. I found out not long after that I was pregnant. I went through my pregnancy with a few minor attacks, but nothing horrible. I had mentioned it to my ob, but he brushed it off. I had Dawson in May. Just like with Evie, I had another attack when he was about a month old. On the morning of July 11th, I woke up with the familiar pain creeping up, but this time I was different.

I got up and took a hot shower to ease the pain a little. I got back in bed and managed to fall asleep. When Dawson woke up a few hours later to eat, I found the pain was still there but not as bad. Soon Evie was up for the day and I just did my best to keep on our normal routine. Come afternoon, I was uncomfortable. Evie doesn’t really nap anymore, but I decided today we would nap. I got both kids to sleep and I attempted to rest myself. The pain started to get worse. Then the nausea kicked in. I started to sweat profusely and was vomiting. The pain was unlike anything I felt before. I called Dave in between vomiting and told him I needed to go to the hospital. 

He left work and made the long drive home. I was in agony and now both kids were awake. I felt like I was going to black out. Poor Dawson was crying and Evie was making a mess. I felt so helpless. Dave got in and we flew out to the truck with the kids. Luckily we live a mile from a hospital, but it felt like 100 miles. I need up needing a wheelchair. The wait felt like eternity. The pain was almost unbearable and I continued to vomit. Finally I was taken to a room. 

The pain just wouldn’t stop. I was actually screaming in pain it was so bad. The baby was crying and hungry, and I attempted to breast feed him, but couldn’t manage it in the condition I was in. I sent Dave and the kids home and to,d Dave to get Dawson some formula, which killed me to say. 

They had to do blood work before they could do anything, but finally they put me on fluids and gave me morphine. Unfortunately, that did nothing to lessen the pain I was in. I then had an ultrasound. My results came back- pancreatitis, caused by a gallstone. I was admitted. I spent the next 10 days hospitalized. The first few days were nothing short of torture. I was in so much pain I could hardly think. My case was/is so severe that I cannot have my gallbladder removed for at least 6 weeks because of inflammation. My lipase levels were so high they were off the chart. 

Long story short, I was finally released. I was uncomfortable and having trouble eating, but glad to be home. Five days after being released, I had horrible pain return. Dave took me back to the ER in the middle of the night and I was readmitted. I had passed another gallstone. Luckily this time I only had to stay 4 days. 

I am now back home as of yesterday. Eating is still a struggle. I am uncomfortable at the best of times and in pain other times.  My parents are here to watch the kids as I try to recover. I am so scared that I will have another attack before by pancreas recovers enough to have my gallbladder removed. I feel totally wiped out, but I am glad to be alive. There is a lot more I want today about all of this, but I will save that for another post. 

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

