Hello

I’ve been wanting to get back to blogging, but after my last post I’ve been dreading it. A lot has happened in the almost a year since my last post. It was a very challenging time physically and mentally. I do want to write about what happened, to get it off my chest. I started several drafts in the last few months, but writing about it was very stressful at the time. Things are much better now, so I think I will be making that post soon.

So, on a less depressing note, I’m back! (How many times have I said that now?) It’s beginning to feel a lot like summer here in the Dallas area. Weather has been crazy, as usual for this time of year. Evie is now 3 years old and Dawson turned 1 just about a month ago. My parents went home to California last week (more on that in my pancreatitis update) after a long visit. It was great having them here, but I’m sure they are glad to be home. The kids definitely loved having them here. The transition after they leave is always tough. Evie always asks where they are for at least a week, in hopes they are just at the store or something.

We are locked in a battle of will with both kids. With Evie, we are trying to get her to use the potty, but it’s been a struggle. I know she can do it, and she has, but she is resisting. Also, getting her to stay in bed at night has been a challenge. With Dawson, we are also struggling with bedtime, and even naps. He is very attached to me and screams when put into his crib (or put him down, or get too far away from him, etc). We do co-sleep, but we don’t bed share (his crib is in our room). We have tried bed sharing, and it doesn’t work for us. That’s what Dawson wants though, to sleep with me. Unfortunately, that has proven to be horribly uncomfortable in our queen sized bed and he thrashes around, which means no sleep for me. I am not a fan of cry it out for my kids, but nothing is working for him but just letting him cry. I stay in the room with him, but if I try to comfort or soothe him, it sets him off worse. I hate hearing him cry! I know it’s just a phase, but it sure does suck. On top of that he is teething, so he is grumpy because of that.

I will have to sit down after the kids are asleep on night (haha) and get that update written. I’m sure no one really cares (and my Facebook friends probably already know some of the details), but I want to get it written for myself. To help me release all of the stress of the last year and move forward.

XO

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello

  1. Love this!! I didn’t know u had a blog! I will be following now! 💙💙💙

  2. Lisa Talley says:

    Nicole, we were so happy to be able to help you out in your time of need! We love those 2 babies with all our hearts as we love you. It breaks our hearts when we have to leave, but we are also glad to be home in our own bed and with our Starby. You know we will be there for you and the kids anytime you need us. It breaks my heart hearing how Evie keeps thinking we will show up after awhile. She is a special little granddaughter! Hopefully with time she will potty train, the one thing you have to do once you start is be consistant. I am sorry to hear you are having such a horrible time at night. Keep strong and as my Mom said ~ This too shall pass! We love you and the babies with all our heart! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

