Family Dinner

The other day I was thinking back to my childhood and teenage years. It’s not something that I’ve done in awhile, but it was nice to reminisce. It made me think about something that I really missed about that time. Every Sunday/holiday we (my mom’s side of the family) had family dinner night. We would go over my Nana and Oppie’s (Grandma and Grandpa) house and spend time and have dinner. It was nothing fancy. The grandkids would hang out or swim in the pool. The adults visited and enjoyed a glass of wine. We celebrated birthdays and holidays. They were good times.

What we actually ate wasn’t really important, but time spent together. I have so many good memories of summer evenings spent swimming in the pool and sitting at the kitchen table visiting. I can still picture my Nana and Oppie’s dog barking as we walked up the courtyard, the (ugly) wall paper, and my Nana reminding people to take off their shoes.

nana

My Nana at Family dinner. February 2004

mom

My Mom

family

My Oppie was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer in July 2004. My Nana had a massive stroke in October 2004. She passed away October 30th and he passed November 3rd, 2004. Family dinners ceased to exist.

A lot has happened in the twelve years since the last family dinners. I have two kids of my own and live in another state than my family. Having my parents visiting with the kids makes me wish they could have something similar.

 

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life, Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

