I can’t tell you how many times I have come to write just something, anything really, but then I get major writers block. I don’t really write for anyone but myself, yet I find it hard to find any words. I used to write frequently on different platforms over the years, and find it is very therapeutic. I even would write in an actual journal, but I can’t remember the last time I actually did so. I would love to get back to that point. It has been a year since my last post, and I’m trying to figure out the best way to jump back in.

There’s been of changes over the past year, which is to be expected I suppose! Rewind back to last August and my in-laws made the move from California to Texas. It has been great for the kids to actually have family near by that they get to see often. We were pretty used to it just being the two of us (then 3, then 4 haha), first being in Texas for the military then deciding to make it our forever home. Now we have family to spend holidays with, which is so much better than having to Skype to open presents.

Dave got a new job back in October. He is so much happier. He now has guaranteed weekends off and a set schedule, so it has been much better for the family.

My parents came to visit for the Christmas holiday. We fit in as much fun activities as we could. We went to the Christmas market in Arlington several times, drove through Prairie Lights, and froze our butts off at Sundance Square. Christmas day was great with both sets of grandparents there for the kids.

Shortly after Christmas, Dave and I tossed around the idea of buying a house. Our lease was coming up to be renewed and we weren’t happy there. We got all pre-approved, and went on our first house hunting adventure the first week of 2017. We found a house we really liked and put in an offer, but, after receiving a counter offer from the seller, they entered a contract with someone else. It was kind of upsetting at the time. I knew not to get too attached, but I suck at that. The market here was really hot. A house would come on the market and be under contract in the first day. There were many times we didn’t get to go see a house because they had already accepted an offer. We were online looking every night and emailing our real-estate agent lists of houses we wanted to see. By the next day half of them were already under contract.

We ended up expanding our search area a little (we wanted to be somewhat close to Dave’s work). We found a house we loved and decided to put in an offer, though we heard that they had already received an offer. I wasn’t very optimistic and didn’t want to get my hopes up again. I heard good things about writing a letter to the sellers, introducing yourself as well as telling them what you loved about their house, so I figured it couldn’t hurt to include that with our offer.

After 24 agonizing hours, the sellers accepted our offer and we were on our way to buying a house! Let me tell you, it was one of the most stressful experiences to an anxious person like me. We had (stupidly) signed another lease for our apartment because we weren’t sure how long it was going to take to find a house in this hot of a market, so that added to the stress for me.

After what seemed like an eternity (but was actually just a month), we signed the mountain of paperwork and got the keys. The move in process was horrendous. Our house is only 15 miles or so from our apartment, but with traffic is at least a 30 minute drive. That wasn’t too bad, but, in perfect Murphy’s Law fashion, Evie got sick on our original move in day. We ended up canceling the moving truck because Evie had a fever and we were up almost all night with her in our room. She started to feel better the next day so we went ahead and got a truck. While we were mid move, we get a call from my mother-in-law, who was watching the kids while Dave, his dad, and I were loading the truck, and Dawson had started throwing up.

So the first night in our house we had 2 sick kids and a freaked out cat. The next week or two, both kids would take turns being sick. It was a nightmare to be trying to unpack, get the kids acclimated to the new place, and deal with them trading off being sick. Additionally, we didn’t get everything moved the day with the truck, so we had to make a bunch of trips back and forth with our truck to finish up, as well as deep clean the apartment.

We finally got mostly settled in, and the kids really love the house. We went from a 2 bedroom apartment under 1000sqft to a 4 bedroom house with double the space.  Two of my favorite spaces in the house are the soaking tub in the master bath and the gigantic master walk in closet.

6c3du1t.jpg

img source: google

I’m going to go total fan girl for a minute now. On April 1st, Dallas Fan Expo was happening and two of the guests happened to be my favorite actors from my favorite show… Norman Reedus and Jeffrey Dean Morgan. My husband was the greatest and not only got tickets for us to go, but got me a photo op with both of them *Hyperventilates*

Now the event itself was, excuse my language but this is the best descriptor, a cluster-fuck. So much confusion and chaos. We brought Evie because she loves Daryl and she was so excited. Side note: No, she doesn’t really watch the show, but she has grown up with us watching it. We would watch the Bad Lip Reading videos on YouTube all the time too. When she was 21 months old she would say “WALKING DEAD!” all the time, which may have been slightly embarrassing when people would ask if that’s what she just said. Anyways, poor Evie was so tired. We were standing in line for hours, well past our assigned photo op time, sandwiched in a huge crowd of people. Towards the end of the wait she had to go potty, but we couldn’t get through the crowd. I was crossing my fingers that she didn’t end up peeing on her beloved Daryl!

We made it to the front of the line, and Evie was holding our replica Lucille when we walked up there. JDM saw her with the bat and jumped back and said “Woah!” which then caused Evie to run in the opposite direction! Everyone, including people in line, were laughing at her reaction. Norman said,” Way to go Jeff,” and said that Evie was cute. I’m not quite sure if I really breathed during the whole encounter, but it was awesome. I love how our picture turned out too.

17635161_10212185937544867_826357629808399774_o.jpg

As much as I would like to continue writing, it will have to wait for another time as it is way past my bedtime. I think kids can sense when you have stayed up too late, so they wake up extra early. Or that seems to be my luck! I promise that it won’t take me another year to update again!

 

About Nicole

I'm 30 years old. California born and raised. Mama to two wonderful kiddos. I love to travel, play video games with my husband, cook, and get tattooed. I'm generally a shy till I get to know you, which seems to give off the wrong impression to some. I can be a bit sarcastic. Ok, very sarcastic, but I mean it in jest (most of the time).
This entry was posted in Life, Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

